365 Days of Allowing – My Journey: Day 137 ~ Love is FREEDOM

Standard

 

THOUGHT OF THE DAY: “If someone loves you, it should feel like they love you. Real love is the stunning portrait of freedom in it’s most wonderful essence. Love is not taking a hostage or being taken hostage. Love is not being a doormat. Love does not entail sacrificing your self on the altar of martyrdom. If we do not know how to Love our self, how to show respect and honor for our self – then we have no self to sacrifice. We are then sacrificing in order to try to prove to ourselves that we are lovable and worthy – and that is not giving from the heart, that is codependently manipulative, controlling, and dishonest.

Unconditional Love is not being a self-sacrificing doormat – Unconditional Love begins with Loving self enough to protect our self, even at times from the people we Love if that is necessary. Until we start Loving, honoring, and respecting our self, we are not Truly giving – we are attempting to take self worth from others by being compliant in our behavior towards them. Love is not about success, achievement, and recognition. If I do not Love my self – believe at the core of my being that I am worthy and Lovable – then any success, achievement, or recognition I get will only serve to distract me temporarily from the hole that I feel within, from the feeling of being defective that I have internalized.

In a Codependent society we are taught, in the name of “love,” to try to control those we love, by manipulating and shaming them, to try to get them to do what we perceive to be the “right” things – in order to protect our own ego-strength. Our emotional experience of love is of something controlling: “I love you if you do what I want you to do.”

A large component of Love is Freedom. To allow others to be what they are, and do what they choose to do. To allow them to grow, blossom, & bloom in any direction they desire. To manifest the reality they dream…And knowing that we can say yes and no honestly without the fear of losing love..even to the ones closest to us, the ones we esteem above all others. This freedom frees others of our expectations and us of their expectations. Releasing them from our ideas of who, what, and how. Allowing them the freedom to just “Be”. What could be more Loving than that?

Real love is the stunning portrait of freedom in it’s most wonderful essence. It is a beauty that rightfully ignores perceived flaws, placing the focus instead on our internal lights where it belongs.” ~ Hope you enjoyed ♥ TwinSpirit

About TwinSpirit

"To know me is to..well..know "ME". Life and all its wonders do not scare me. I live with an open heart so I have known my fair share of disappointments but the JOY I have experienced totally outweighs the pain..I choose LOVE not FEAR!!" SO WHO IS TWINSPIRIT? Well, I am a Singer/songwriter/producer/director/revolutionary/FreeSpirit/mother/poet/sister/lover/friend/and all around cool azz chic. (Just ask anybody...lol) ABOUT MY MUSIC: (excerpt from my Bio) TwinSpirit delivers her own uniquely flavored brew of "Hypnotic Jazzy Soul with a Kick Ass Punch". This singer/songwriter has the ability to transcend genres. She is a master at her craft and flows effortlessly from one musical style to the next. TwinSpirit infuses an essence that only she can give to the performance....she brings the song "To Life". "TwinSpirit keeps her performance real with a raw edge. She sways from soulful poetic melodies to delivering powerful deeply felt vocals." TwinSpirit is not about conventions. In fact, she might rather you see both sides of a thing just so you can truly know where you stand." MY SOUND: An Alternative blend of jazz, hip-hop, rock & soul. All of which is blended to bring you my own uniquely flavored brew of: "HYPNOTIC JAZZY SOUL WITH A KICK ASS PUNCH!!!". Please visit me online anytime www.iAmTwinSpirit.com MY OTHER PASSION: Mentoring & Promoting Other talented Souls Founder & Director of Art Houze Alive www.ArtHouzeAlive.com Founder of The SOFA Series www.TheSofaSeries.com The SOFA Series was created to develop opportunities that "pay" artists to perform and also allows them to showcase their work in a supportive environment, while at the same time, bringing together individuals that share a passion for the art, creativity, & rawness of live music performances. A space that allows the performers to refocus their energy on their craft and put the "Art" back in Artist. A space that allows the listening audience to connect with the Artist & the music. Always looking to connect, to build, to GROW!! So drop me a line & say hello...I promise I don't bite (unless of course you're into that sort of thing ;-) For you Twitter lovers by all means FOLLOW ME @TwinSpiritWorld Follow me on Instagram @TwinSpirit & @ArtHouzeAlive

One response »

Leave a comment