365 Days of Allowing – My Journey: Day 20 ~ Laugh Your Heart Out

Standard

I was sitting here working tonight…attempting to wrap up a few things on my To Do list so that I could turn in at a decent time for once (before 5am).

Must admit that I was in a bit of a snippy mood. Although my mood had not quite escalated to “B*mode”, I was feeling a bit impatient with myself and was becoming irritated over simple things, like not being able to find a dry erase marker.

My right eye had began twitching, which is my signal that something is worrying me.

I decided that it might be a good idea to take a little bit of a break from my task at hand so I decide to log on to Facebook for a few minutes.

A video that was posted by a FB friend of mine captured my attention from my news feeds…so I decided to click play.

When I tell you that maybe 30 seconds into the video the giggles began to start and by 60 seconds in I was in full on giggle fit mode. I was giggling so hard I decided that I had to watch the video again..so of course I pressed replay. The second time around I knew what was going to happen so  I was in tears from laughing so hard about 30 seconds in.

I laughed, and laughed, and laughed some more. I laughed so hard I think I even pushed out a loud fart…lol (oh, excuse me btw..I don’t think I said it when it happened).

It was just amazing. I laughed all of my worries away, I laughed all of my stress away, I laughed my tension away, I laughed myself right into a state of relaxation..a bit too relaxed obviously (thus the reason behind the fart incident)..But it just amazed me. After I regained my composure I began to ponder the power of laughter and the benefit of allowing more laughter into your life. I decided to do a little quick research on the matter and wanted to share what I found.

******************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Laughter is the Best Medicine: The Health Benefits of Humor and Laughter

(Authors: Melinda Smith, M.A., Gina Kemp, M.A., and Jeanne Segal, Ph.D. Last)

Humor is infectious. The sound of roaring laughter is far more contagious than any cough, sniffle, or sneeze. When laughter is shared, it binds people together and increases happiness and intimacy. In addition to the domino effect of joy and amusement, laughter also triggers healthy physical changes in the body. Humor and laughter strengthen your immune system, boost your energy, diminish pain, and protect you from the damaging effects of stress. Best of all, this priceless medicine is fun, free, and easy to use.

Laughter is strong medicine for mind and body

Laughter is a powerful antidote to stress, pain, and conflict. Nothing works faster or more dependably to bring your mind and body back into balance than a good laugh. Humor lightens your burdens, inspires hopes, connects you to others, and keeps you grounded, focused, and alert.

With so much power to heal and renew, the ability to laugh easily and frequently is a tremendous resource for surmounting problems, enhancing your relationships, and supporting both physical and emotional health.

Laughter is good for your health

  • Laughter relaxes the whole body. A good, hearty laugh relieves physical tension and stress, leaving your muscles relaxed for up to 45 minutes after.
  • Laughter boosts the immune system. Laughter decreases stress hormones and increases immune cells and infection-fighting antibodies,thus improving your resistance to disease.
  • Laughter triggers the release of endorphins, the body’s natural feel-good chemicals. Endorphins promote an overall sense of well-being and can even temporarily relieve pain.
  • Laughter protects the heart. Laughter improves the function of blood vessels and increases blood flow, which can help protect you against a heart attack and other cardiovascular problems.

   The Benefits of Laughter

Physical Health Benefits:

Boosts immunity
Lowers stress hormones
Decreases pain
Relaxes your muscles
Prevents heart disease

Mental Health Benefits:

Adds joy and zest to life
Eases anxiety and fear
Relieves stress
Improves mood
Enhances resilience

Social Benefits:

Strengthens relationships
Attracts others to us
Enhances teamwork
Helps defuse conflict
Promotes group bonding

Laughter and humor help you stay emotionally healthy

Laughter makes you feel good. And the good feeling that you get when you laugh remains with you even after the laughter subsides. Humor helps you keep a positive, optimistic outlook through difficult situations, disappointments, and loss.

More than just a respite from sadness and pain, laughter gives you the courage and strength to find new sources of meaning and hope. Even in the most difficult of times, a laugh–or even simply a smile–can go a long way toward making you feel better. And laughter really is contagious—just hearing laughter primes your brain and readies you to smile and join in the fun.

The link between laughter and mental health

  • Laughter dissolves distressing emotions. You can’t feel anxious, angry, or sad when you’re laughing.
  • Laughter helps you relax and recharge. It reduces stress and increases energy, enabling you to stay focused and accomplish more.
  • Humor shifts perspective, allowing you to see situations in a more realistic, less threatening light. A humorous perspective creates psychological distance, which can help you avoid feeling overwhelmed. ~ Read the Full Article Here:

My Final Observation: Laughter is truly healing to the soul. If my entire disposition can go from sour to blissful from only 5 minutes of gut busting laughter, I can only imagine the healing impact that allowing more laughter into our lives  & creating more laughter in our world can have on the quality of life for everyone on this planet we share. So lets all commit to allowing more humor and laughter into our lives, and by doing so we will infuse the lives of those we encounter; and in turn the universe, with the healing energy that LAUGHTER brings.

shared with laughter & filled with love,

TwinSpirit


About TwinSpirit

"To know me is to..well..know "ME". Life and all its wonders do not scare me. I live with an open heart so I have known my fair share of disappointments but the JOY I have experienced totally outweighs the pain..I choose LOVE not FEAR!!" SO WHO IS TWINSPIRIT? Well, I am a Singer/songwriter/producer/director/revolutionary/FreeSpirit/mother/poet/sister/lover/friend/and all around cool azz chic. (Just ask anybody...lol) ABOUT MY MUSIC: (excerpt from my Bio) TwinSpirit delivers her own uniquely flavored brew of "Hypnotic Jazzy Soul with a Kick Ass Punch". This singer/songwriter has the ability to transcend genres. She is a master at her craft and flows effortlessly from one musical style to the next. TwinSpirit infuses an essence that only she can give to the performance....she brings the song "To Life". "TwinSpirit keeps her performance real with a raw edge. She sways from soulful poetic melodies to delivering powerful deeply felt vocals." TwinSpirit is not about conventions. In fact, she might rather you see both sides of a thing just so you can truly know where you stand." MY SOUND: An Alternative blend of jazz, hip-hop, rock & soul. All of which is blended to bring you my own uniquely flavored brew of: "HYPNOTIC JAZZY SOUL WITH A KICK ASS PUNCH!!!". Please visit me online anytime www.Epresskitz.com/TwinSpirit MY OTHER PASSION: Promoting Other talented Souls Founder of The SOFA Series www.TheSofaSeries.com The SOFA Series was created to develop opportunities that "pay" artists to perform and also allows them to showcase their work in a supportive environment, while at the same time, bringing together individuals that share a passion for the art, creativity, & rawness of live music performances. A space that allows the performers to refocus their energy on their craft and put the "Art" back in Artist. A space that allows the listening audience to connect with the Artist & the music. Always looking to connect, to build, to GROW!! So drop me a line & say hello...I promise I don't bite (unless of course you're into that sort of thing ;-) For you Twitter lovers by all means FOLLOW ME @TwinSpiritWorld

Leave a Reply

