365 Days of Allowing – My Journey: Day 14 ~ Put Her On Mute or Give Her Some Love?

Standard

I am feeling so wonderful. My spirit is light and my heart is free. At this moment I feel very inspired to write.

I take my seat in my favorite chair at my favorite desk to begin sharing my thoughts for the day.

I glance to the left and catch a glimpse of a woman. My what a round fat face she has? Look at her hair. Those arms sure could use some toning. Is that a double chin I see? OMG what is she thinking??? On and on the negative thoughts spring forth one after the other.

I feel a sadness come over me and my energy level sinks quickly.

How awful that my first thoughts of this woman were filled with negativity and criticism

and how sad that the woman I was speaking about so harshly was me after seeing my reflection in the mirror.

I tore into me with no mercy and no consideration. I ripped me to shreds all in the matter of 1 minute.

Where did all of that come from?

It is so easy and natural for me to see the beauty in others and to see the beauty in the world that surrounds me.

But sometimes it is a challenge to see and maintain that same level of appreciation for me.

At times I have spoken to myself in a manner that I would never allow anyone to speak to me. I have said things that I would never tolerate from another soul.

Who is that mean, insecure little person and why do I allow her to reside within my castle walls? Why don’t I ask her to leave or just kick her out? Why do I keep her around?

Why do I listen to her? Why did I allow her to change my mood instantly? Why don’t I put her on MUTE?

Well her name is Negativity and she thrives from attention. She gains more power and energy from my focus. She is a culmination of old untrue thoughts I have received that I have not released . She is not good for me but I hold on to her. She is not a match to the truth of who I am and what I desire.

Something in me urges me to look even more closely at her. To really honestly look at her. To “see” her.

So I go deeper. Wow….in all actuality when I close my eyes and really listen to her, she is merely pointing out things (thoughts, feelings, beliefs, energy) that I have encountered on this journey. Things I have heard, seen, felt, witnessed, been taught, & exposed to. Things that I have held and claimed as my own when in truth these things do not belong to me, they are no good for me, and I need to rid myself of them.

When I really see her for who she is I realize that she seeks to hold no power over me.

She simply points out the fallacies and it is up to me to acknowledge them and then LET THEM GO.

In truth She is my ally not my enemy. I have fought her and battled her for years to no avail, but today I see her for who she truly is.

She is my partner in truth. She reveals it and I must heal it.

She was never here to hurt me, only to assist me in staying on path. She is part of my navigation system and is here to help me move fluidly through the experience.

When her words and revelations have caused me to feel hurt, pain, discomfort, sadness, fear, anger or worry. She is only attempting to show me that I am off path and therefore out of alignment with my true nature and my desires. She is attempting to guide me back to my bliss, to my purpose, to my vortex, to my center.

She is attempting to warn me that a situation or experience is in contrast to the reality I desire.

She shows me the lie so that I can replace it with my truth.

My truth is what evaporates the lies.

My love is what erases the sadness, pain, worry, anger and fear.

My LIGHT is what eradicates the Darkness.

To truly know her is to Love her.

I can now embrace her and thank her for the role she plays in my life as I continue on this Journey to Self Discovery.

My Observation for the Day: “What we see depends mainly on what we look for.” ― John Lubbock

With peace & a greater understanding,

TwinSpirit

About TwinSpirit

"To know me is to..well..know "ME". Life and all its wonders do not scare me. I live with an open heart so I have known my fair share of disappointments but the JOY I have experienced totally outweighs the pain..I choose LOVE not FEAR!!" SO WHO IS TWINSPIRIT? Well, I am a Singer/songwriter/producer/director/revolutionary/FreeSpirit/mother/poet/sister/lover/friend/and all around cool azz chic. (Just ask anybody...lol) ABOUT MY MUSIC: (excerpt from my Bio) TwinSpirit delivers her own uniquely flavored brew of "Hypnotic Jazzy Soul with a Kick Ass Punch". This singer/songwriter has the ability to transcend genres. She is a master at her craft and flows effortlessly from one musical style to the next. TwinSpirit infuses an essence that only she can give to the performance....she brings the song "To Life". "TwinSpirit keeps her performance real with a raw edge. She sways from soulful poetic melodies to delivering powerful deeply felt vocals." TwinSpirit is not about conventions. In fact, she might rather you see both sides of a thing just so you can truly know where you stand." MY SOUND: An Alternative blend of jazz, hip-hop, rock & soul. All of which is blended to bring you my own uniquely flavored brew of: "HYPNOTIC JAZZY SOUL WITH A KICK ASS PUNCH!!!". Please visit me online anytime www.TwinSpiritsWorld.com MY OTHER PASSION: Promoting Other talented Souls Founder of The SOFA Series www.TheSofaSeries.com The SOFA Series was created to develop opportunities that "pay" artists to perform and also allows them to showcase their work in a supportive environment, while at the same time, bringing together individuals that share a passion for the art, creativity, & rawness of live music performances. A space that allows the performers to refocus their energy on their craft and put the "Art" back in Artist. A space that allows the listening audience to connect with the Artist & the music. Always looking to connect, to build, to GROW!! So drop me a line & say hello...I promise I don't bite (unless of course you're into that sort of thing ;-) For you Twitter lovers by all means FOLLOW ME @TwinSpiritWorld

3 responses »

  1. PERSPECTIVE is arguably one of the things I hold in the highest esteem in life, whether it be another or (especially) my own. I make no apologies for it, as I understand it for what it is. Consider the root “spect”; it simply means sight. I consciously choose to go through this life using my complete vision, unrestricted. Too many prefer to walk the path in blindness – pretending what is isn’t and what isn’t, is. I realize that using my sight and verbalizing what it is I see can sometimes throw people off a bit, but then again I have played the game as a kid where we close our eyes and attempt to let a voice in the distance guide us; we fear, stumble, and distrust. That’s cool, I get it.

    PERSPECTIVE is liberating. When shared and dealt with from a mature “perspective”, it can bridge spaces amongst people that otherwise might not have been…because it is understood that it is shaped by one’s own perceptions and experiences. It is nothing to be feared; it is sans hate, judgment, anger, etc. It is however full of passion, openness, and honesty. I try not let the fact that I have personal failures and shortcomings cloud my perspective. I think we have to be careful of that, because we then limit ourselves and become timid. For me, there is no alternative; I feel like I owe it to myself to have a perspective on anything that directly (or indirectly impacts my life). If others share in that perspective (or are willing to offer their own), fine. If not, well…

  2. I think that is a question we all have to ask ourselves……why we place others above ourselves, especially if we want others to treat us like we would want to be treated, it would seem as though some compassion towards ourselves is warranted. I have done this to no avail only to harbor hard heartedness and resentment only to realize the power I gave away. I am trying my best to be more open in my communication so I won’t feel this way and won’t have regrets about what I should or should not have done regarding an issue… I read in a book that fears have to be spoken to like little children, meaning you have to be gentle and compassionate with them in order to move past them, at least that helps for me…..

Leave a Reply

